2020 Director Elections

There were three open director seats to be elected in 2020 for four-year terms. The election polls closed on April 13, the end of the fifteenth calendar day following the date on which the ballots were mailed to stockholders. Following the counting of votes by a third-party tabulator, the following were declared elected.

Seat One

Eastern Region: Auburn, Bedford, Bridgeton, Dayville, Enfield, Flemington, Middleboro, Presque Isle and Riverhead offices.

Barry Allan Buck, (45), of Mapleton, ME, is co-owner and cooperatively manages crop production, marketing and sales at Buck Farms since 1998. Buck Farms is a 1,000-acre cash crop and potato farm founded in 1958. Learn more about Barry

Seat Two

Central Region: Burrville, Claverack, Cooperstown, Greenwich, Middletown and Potsdam offices.

Douglas W. Shelmidine, (63), of Adams, N.Y., is the general and financial manager of Sheland Farms LLC, handling bookkeeping, business management and business leadership. Learn more about Doug

Seat Three

Western Region: Batavia, Cortland, Geneva, Hornell and Mayville offices.

David "Skip" Hardie, (69), of Groton, N.Y., is the retiring senior partner of Walnut Ridge Dairy, LLC, along with Steve Palladino, John Fleming and Keith Chapin. The farm milks 1,600 cows and operates 2,200 acres. Learn more about Skip

2020 Annual Meeting

Due to concerns related to the COVID-19, Farm Credit East's 2020 Annual Meeting was held by webinar and teleconference March 23, 2020. This meeting began with the 2020 Director Candidate Forum which was followed by a report from the Nominating Committee, Chair and CEO. This meeting also invited voting stockholders to participate in approving this year’s slate of director candidates and next year’s nominating committee. Click here for the full recorded meeting.

2021 Nominating Committee

In keeping with its responsibility under the association's bylaws, the nominating committee presents the slate of candidates for the 2021 nominating committee to be elected at the annual meeting. There are 23 regular members and 23 alternates. Additional nominations for the 2021 nominating committee members may be made from the floor at the annual meeting. For more information on the nominating committee, view the Annual Meeting Information Statement.