Press Releases

Farm Credit East Announces Board Election Results

April 27, 2017

Farm Credit East, a farmer-owned cooperative lender, has announced the results of its recent Director Election and Board reorganization meeting. The Board represents the diversity of Northeast agriculture and forest products.

Farm Credit East, ACA stockholders recently elected four members to its Board of Directors:

  • Lisa Preger Sellew, of Lebanon, Conn., was re-elected to a 4-year term. Lisa is vice president of Prides Corner Farms, Inc., and manages the business with her husband Mark. Prides Corner Farms is a wholesale nursery growing more than 2,200 varieties of nursery stock, perennials, roses, trees, herbs and vegetables.
  • Peter J. Barton, of Poughquag, N.Y., was re-elected to a 1-year term. Peter is owner of Barton Entertainment Co., LLC, overseeing Barton Orchards, a 122-acre family farm with an offsite retail bakery.
  • LouAnne F. King, of Madrid, N.Y., was elected to a 4-year term. LouAnne is an owner of Mapleview Dairy LLC, a family-owned 2,800 cow dairy with 2,500 replacement heifers and approximately 4,600 cropped acres.
  • John P. Knopf, of Canandaigua, N.Y., was re-elected to a 4-year term. John is owner of Fa-Ba Farms, LLC, a family-owned dairy operation consisting of 500 milking cows, 400 replacements and 850 acres of cropland.

At the April 25 reorganization meeting, the Board elected Matthew Beaton, Wareham, Mass., as its chair and Henry Huntington, Loudon, N.H., as vice chair. In addition to Chairman Beaton and Vice Chair Huntington, the five-member Executive Committee also includes Peter Call, Batavia, N.Y., Daniel Corey, Monticello, Maine, and Laurie Griffen, Stillwater, N.Y.

“We have an excellent Board of Directors committed to the future of Farm Credit East as an essential partner for Northeast agriculture, commercial fishing and forest products. The diversity of our Board enables us to effectively serve members across our seven state service area,” noted Chairman Beaton.

Farm Credit East is a customer-owned agricultural cooperative and part of the nationwide Farm Credit System. Farm Credit East serves Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island.

The full Farm Credit East Board is comprised of 17 directors, which includes appointed directors who bring additional skills and capabilities to the boardroom. In addition to those recently elected to the Board and those elected to leadership and Executive Committee positions, the Board includes: Michael N. Brooks, Elmer, N.J.; Tim C. Chan, Claremont, N.H.; Skip Hardie, Lansing, N.Y.; Richard P. Janiga, East Aurora, N.Y.; James A. Robbins II, Searsmont, Maine; Douglas W. Shelmidine, Adams, N.Y.; Diane D. Souza, Little Compton, R.I.; and Peter H. Triandafillou, Orono, Maine.


For more information:
Contact: Kristie Schmitt
Telephone: 800.562.2235